A History of My Brief Body
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
ISBN
9781937512941
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

More Details & Information provided by Syndetics Unbound

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
Two Dollar Radio, 2020.
Format
eBook
Language
English

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Billy-Ray Belcourt., & Billy-Ray Belcourt|AUTHOR. (2020). A History of My Brief Body . Two Dollar Radio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Billy-Ray Belcourt and Billy-Ray Belcourt|AUTHOR. 2020. A History of My Brief Body. Two Dollar Radio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Billy-Ray Belcourt and Billy-Ray Belcourt|AUTHOR. A History of My Brief Body Two Dollar Radio, 2020.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Billy-Ray Belcourt, and Billy-Ray Belcourt|AUTHOR. A History of My Brief Body Two Dollar Radio, 2020.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDff1be829-3f20-b606-1cf5-c0da3703392f-eng
Full titlehistory of my brief body
Authorbelcourt billy ray
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-01-30 06:36:39AM
Last Indexed2024-04-13 05:09:05AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcesyndetics
First LoadedDec 15, 2022
Last UsedApr 13, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2020
    [artist] => Billy-Ray Belcourt
    [fiction] => 
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/csp_9781937512941_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13405722
    [isbn] => 9781937512941
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => A History of My Brief Body
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Billy-Ray Belcourt
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Biography & Autobiography
            [1] => Cultural, Ethnic & Regional
            [2] => Essays
            [3] => Indigenous
            [4] => LGBTQ+
            [5] => Literary Collections
            [6] => Personal Memoirs
        )

    [price] => 0.99
    [id] => 13405722
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be.
For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.
Billy-Ray Belcourt's debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. Piece by piece, Billy-Ray's writings invite us to unpack and explore the big and broken world he inhabits every day, in all its complexity and contradiction: a legacy of colonial violence and the joy that flourishes in spite of it; first loves and first loves lost; sexual exploration and intimacy; the act of writing as a survival instinct and a way to grieve. What emerges is not only a profound meditation on memory, gender, anger, shame, and ecstasy, but also the outline of a way forward. With startling honesty, and in a voice distinctly and assuredly his own, Belcourt situates his life experiences within a constellation of seminal queer texts, among which this book is sure to earn its place. Eye-opening, intensely emotional, and excessively quotable, A History of My Brief Body demonstrates over and over again the power of words to both devastate and console us.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13405722
    [pa] => 
    [publisher] => Two Dollar Radio
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)